This year, the Forbes Best of Africa Oil and Gas Man of the Year 2017 Award was awarded to Dr. Maikanti Baru, Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

The Forbes Best of Africa Oil and Gas Man of the Year award was given specially to top oil and gas personalities who have made far-reaching and positive contributions to the development of the sector and have caused sustained stability of the economy in which they operate.

Baru was notified of his nomination for the Forbes Best of Africa Oil and Gas Man of the Year award by a letter dated October 11, 2017, and signed by Mark Furlong who is the current president of Customs Solutions Media, on behalf of Forbes Media.

Forbes has been watching Baru’s well-thought out moves and successful career for years. In his 18 months heading the NNPC, he has taken great strides. In the nomination document, it says, “For these and other landmark achievements which you have recorded throughout your enviable career, your nomination for this prestigious Forbes 2017 Award has been approved by Forbes Custom’s Award Committee. This Award will be conferred on you by Forbe’s Mark Furlong”, it stated. Forbes also noted that the award ceremony would be graced by doyens of the international oil and gas business community, policy makers, entrepreneurs, politicians, opinion leaders, among others.

About Baru:

Dr. Baru holds a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, in Kaduna State. Baru is no stranger to awards and accolades. His career has been lit up by many awards. These Awards include: the PETAN Appreciation Award for the promotion of the growth of Nigerian Companies and Entrepreneurs in the Petroleum Industry; the PETAN 2017 Oil and Gas Industry Award in recognition of the Corporation’s aggressive exploration campaign in the Benue Trough and the Chad Basin, as well as the Diamond Award in recognition of NNPC’s support and contribution towards the success of SPE’s Nigeria Annual International Conference & Exhibition (NAICE) 2017. He also won the Shell BP Petroleum Prize for the Best Final Year Mechanical Engineering Student and the Lever Brothers Prize for the Best Final Year Mechanical Engineering Investigation Project at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria in 1982.

What do you think? Let us know in the comments below!